It’s Tuesday, where are you?

Jumping off from Raidergirl3’s an adventure in reading, It’s Tuesday, Where are You?, I’m still in the western hills of North Carolina with Eugene Gant as he is growing up in Thomas Wolfe’s Look Homeward, Angel. Right now, I’m in a one-room schoolhouse with Eugene as he continues to fall in love with reading (how appropriate, huh?). For a short while, very short while, I was in a land where a Rooster named Chantecleer lived in Walter Wangerin Jr.’s The Book of the Dun Cow, but I didn’t like it there much. So now at the request of my wife, I’m off to the home of a South American country’s vice president where a lavish birthday party is being held for Mr. Hosokokawa in Ann Patchett’s Bel Canto. I hope it’s better there, but I have a feeling from reading the back of the book, there’s going to be trouble, capital T, as in “Terrorists.”

As long as it’s not raining there, though, it should be fine, because all it seems like it wants to do here is rain or look like it’s going to rain, which doesn’t help me in my quest to climb a local mountain here a couple times a week. The allergy headaches it’s causing are a hindrance too.

So where in the world are you today, Carmen Sandiego? And if your name isn’t Carmen Sandiego, that’s all right, I sometimes get confused in the stream-of-consciousness that’s going on in my head (like Faulkner, like Joyce, like…well, you get the idea), but I’d still like to know where you are in your reading.

4 responses to “It’s Tuesday, where are you?

  1. Pingback: Sunday Salon: Starting with Bel Canto by Ann Patchett « Just A (Reading) Fool

  2. I’m in Rwanda, a couple of years before it goes down the bog. (I just started that book you told me to read; I’m still in the nice part.) I never pictured it as the beautiful country Immaculee describes so I’m glad I’m reading it, I obviously have a few things to learn.

  3. I’m still trying to make my way through Charlotte Bronte’s Villete. But it is boring.

  4. Sorry to hear about Book of the Dun Cow. Since I thought my husband left the book on the shelf because he wanted me to read it, I asked him about it last night. He said he was very young when he read it and thought that perhaps he just didn’t get what the author was trying to do. Maybe it had something to do with being so straightforward and he was looking for something deeper; like he couldn’t imagine that that was all there was. Now I’m wondering if I should bother.

    Bel Canto, on the other hand, was lovely. I’d read it again. At first I didn’t think I’d like it that much, but the further I got, the more I liked it. Hope you enjoy it.