Stanzas 20 and 21, Part II: The joy of Jesus deep in my heart

Stanzas 20 and 21 and Commentary on It in The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross
My commentary on Section 12, Paragraph 2

If only we could feel that joy. “I’ve got the joy of Jesus, deep in my heart. Deep in my heart. Where? Deep in my heart to stay.” I am reminded of this song from my childhood, Vacation Bible Schools, which are starting up in our area about now. The joy of Jesus deep in my heart, deep in my soul: that whatever joy is added on to that joy is as nothing. I think we need that joy.

I’ll be honest that I am not experiencing that joy today. It is not so much sorrow, as it is lethargy.

Lord, stir my body, mind and soul this day to experience one-tenth of Your joy deep in my heart. Amen.

Comments are closed.