Weekly Geeks 6, Part 1: Playing catch up on challenges

This week’s Weekly Geeks was to either catch up on reviews or something else. So I decided to catch up on a couple of things, starting with challenges.

So late tonight or early this morning, depending on how you look at it, I joined the following:

  • Orbis Terrarum Challenge as suggested by just add books on her blog back on May 10: first five books: Sister Pelagia and The Black Monk by Boris Akunin (since I just finished Sister Pelagia and the White Bulldog), representing Russia; Smilla’s Sense of Snow by Peter Hoeg, representing Denmark (also on my plan to read list); Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust (I’ve read half of this, but haven’t finished the rest yet and is also on my plan to read list), representing France; The Terracotta Dog by Andrea Camilleri or The Snack Thief also by Camilleri, representing Italy (I don’t remember which one I left off with, so whichever one…) Five more still to be determined.
  • 342,745 Ways To Herd Cats, OR tl;dr Challenge: my three books selected: The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie as suggested by our host, The Book of the Dun Cow by Walter Wangerin Jr. as suggested by thebaconfat.livejournal.com and also on my plan to read list; and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak as suggested by more than a few folks from the challenge and because it keeps popping up on everybody’s blog (list of 10 of my favorite books at bottom of this post as asked for for challenge )
  • Book Awards II Challenge with list still to be determined, but will include some already mentioned in earlier challenges. Rules simple: 10 months, 10 award winners, five different awards in 10 titles.
  • The Pulitzer Project to read all 82 winners of the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, since I’ve already some, I believe

10 books I love:

  • A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
  • The River Why by David James Duncan
  • Sister Pelagia and The White Bulldog by Boris Akunin
  • All of Us: The Collected Poems by Raymond Carver
  • Miss Lonelyhearts and Day of the Locusts by Nathanael West
  • The Complete Short Stories of Flannery O’Connor
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
  • Parting the Waters by Taylor Branch
  • Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman
  • The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich by William L. Shirer

3 responses to “Weekly Geeks 6, Part 1: Playing catch up on challenges

  1. Pingback: The cats are herded!

  2. Pingback: 342,745 Ways To Herd Cats

  3. You got some great books listed here! I am drooling!

    Weekly Geeks #6 Wrap up