Stanza 13 of The Spiritual Canticle: Adapting to the lower knowledge

Stanza 13 and Commentary on It in The Spiritual Canticle by John of the Cross
My commentary on Section 8

I have “advanced” through The Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius of Loyola, but as my spiritual director frequently discusses, often we are not finished with The Spiritual Exercises. We might still be in the second or third Week, or even the first Week, and have not “advanced” to the next Week(s).

In terms of my contemplation using The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross, I am working my way backward in that I started with The Living Flame of Love and now am in The Spiritual Canticle. Next, I shall read The Dark Night and then The Ascent of Mt. Carmel, even though perhaps may would say it best to start with The Ascent to Mount Carmel.

I seem to have the three properties of which St. John writes: “sublime and swift contemplation,” “burning love,” and “simplicity of advance.” However, I have not “advanced” yet to to a place for high knowledge. I need to adapt myself to the lower knowledge, need to have my being within this knowledge, though simple, still true — and to that which St. John later alludes: grounded in love.

Lord, let me be grounded in Your love. Amen.

Comments are closed.