Sunday Salon: Seeking serenity in The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross

The Sunday Salon.comAt 9 a.m. this morning, I read Stanza 11 of The Spiritual Canticle from The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross, translated by Kieran Kavanaugh, OCD, and Otilio Rodriguez, OCD. What follows is a post that I just entered on my blog: Journeying with St. Ignatius (and St. John of the Cross):

Stanza 11 and Commentary on It in The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross
My commentary on Section 10, Paragraph 1

As I read these words from the commentary (the above section and paragraph), I have many things in my mind:

  • “Thy will be done” in the Lord’s Prayer
  • my own mother quoting the Scripture mentioned (1 John 4:18) to assuage my fear of eternity as a child
  • a chastisement that I received from a priest yesterday in confession, that might have been from God, even the words the priest used didn’t sound like they were rooted in love. His words rattled me slightly.

I have mentioned before, and I’m sure I will mention again, I am seeking to attain, but I have not attained yet, by any measure.

I have not always “let go, let God” or allowed His Spirit to lead or been open to that spirit. Many times I have tried on my own, instead of allowing “God to grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,” as another cliche-ridden phrase comes to mind, allowing God to transform those things either within, or outside of, me. All is under His purview.

Lord, grant me that love to receive “all things,” both the “good” and the “bad” with that “same evenness of soul,” as St. John of the Cross writes. Amen.

One response to “Sunday Salon: Seeking serenity in The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross

  1. I didn’t find the post for the reading challenge, so I’ll post here.

    Welcome to the 100+ Reading Challenge! 😀 I have posted your link on the right sidebar of the blog. Another thing I am doing something, at least I think it is. I’d like to start posting the participating members favorite book for each month on the blog. If you take a look, you’ll see Jan – May posted. If you send me your favorite book and author of the book for those months, I’ll post it in the photo slider.

    You are also welcome to chat with us on the Yahoo Groups. The link can be found at http://100-book-challenge.blogspot.com/

    One last thing, I corrected your URL. It had to be deleted and a new one posted.

    Have fun!