Sunday Salon: Finished one book, on to the next and a May review

The Sunday Salon.comThis afternoon, before I took a nap with our cat Seamus, I did manage to finish Just Plain Pickled To Death: A Pennsylvania Mystery with Recipes by Tamar Myers. Now I’m getting ready to continue with Sailing Around The Room: New and Selected Poems by Billy Collins before I round out the day with Walker Percy’s The Moviegoer. Before I do, however, after seeing something another blogger, Puss Reboots, did in giving a review of her reviews for the month of May, I’m following suit with my own review of reviews for May.

Mostly I caught up with books I read earlier in the year, but here they are:

May 2008 reviews

  1. Abandonment to Divine Providence by Jean-Pierre de Caussade 10/10
  2. Shakespeare: The World As Stage by Bill Bryson 6/10
  3. Thoughts in Solitude by Thomas Merton 9/10
  4. Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain by Oliver Sacks 8/10
  5. Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas by Tom Robbins 7/10
  6. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris 9/10
  7. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy 8/10
  8. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris 8/10
  9. Lady Killer by Lisa Scottoline 7/10
  10. Proust and the Squid: The Story and Science of the Reading Brain by Maryanne Wolf 7/10
  11. Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist by M.C. Beaton 7/10
  12. Life of Pi by Yann Martel 8/10
  13. Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death by M.C. Beaton 6/10
  14. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman 10/10
  15. Red Bird by Mary Oliver 8/10
  16. The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff 8/10
  17. Left To Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust by Immaculee Ilibagiza with Steve Erwin 10/10
  18. No Use Dying Over Spilled Milk: A Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes by Tamar Meyers 8/10
  19. 180 More: Extraordinary Poems For Every Day, edited by Billy Collins 10/10
  20. The Secret Pulse of Time: Making Sense of Life’s Scarcest Commodity by Stefan Klein 8/10
  21. Stardust by Neil Gaiman 8/10

2 responses to “Sunday Salon: Finished one book, on to the next and a May review

  1. I still have yet to read anything by David Sedaris although I know I have one by him around here somewhere. Everyone seems to love him.
    And thanks for stopping by.

  2. Thank you for the mention. Looks like you’re read a nice variety of books.