Stanza 6 of The Spiritual Canticle: Pictures of the gone world

Stanza 6 and Commentary on It in The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross
My commentary on Section 7

Even in contemplating The Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius of Loyola and now The Spiritual Canticle by St. John of the Cross, it is like I am looking through a glass darkly (I Corinthians 13:12). I feel as if if I am on the threshold of some spiritual revelation, but as soon as I recognize it, it is gone. “Pictures of the gone world,” as Terry Scott Taylor and company say in a song.

Lord, instead of these other messengers, “may you be both the messenger and the message,” as St. John of the Cross says. Let me not rely on spiritual aids to find You, when only You Yourself can reveal Yourself to me. Let me contemplate on You, and let You speak instead of me always speaking…

Comments are closed.