Booking Through Thursday: Books vs. Movies

Here’s my first post for Booking Through Thursdays.

This week’s topic was suggested by: Superfastreader:

Books and films both tell stories, but what we want from a book can be different from what we want from a movie. Is this true for you? If so, what’s the difference between a book and a movie?

First let me reword the last question, to get the silly answer (a la She Reads Books’ initial response, which by the way, I thought was a great way to begin it) out of the way: What is it different that you want from a book than what you want from a movie?

For me, the answer to the first question is yes and no, I do and don’t want the same things from a movie and a book. Huh? Sometimes with both, I’m looking for an escape, a “light read” like the most recent book I finished: No Use Dying Over Spilled Milk by Tamar Myers, or a “light movie” like the most recent movie I saw: Iron Man. Or in both cases, I might be looking for a deep, philosophical treatment of a subject, although off the top of my head, none of those movies come to mind right now. But sometimes I want that deep, philosophical treatment, say, over the span of several days, and I don’t want compressed into two hours like a movie.

For example, currently I’m reading The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross. I already have read The Living Flame of Love and now am reading The Spiritual Canticle, and when I say reading, I should say more incorporating into my devotional time each morning and meditating on each stanza of the poem on which St. John of the Cross expounds within the book. So I don’t just read it. I really mull over it and think what is God trying to say through this stanza to others and to me.

Other examples of books that I don’t want to “zoom through” are books of poetry or books on scientific concepts that I probably don’t understand, but about which I want to learn more.

I’d write more on this subject, but I have to go watch a movie that was made from a book: Starting Out In The Evening. The thing is I bought the book this past weekend after hearing about the movie first. I wanted to read the book first, but Netflix already sent the movie…so now I’m stuck. I’ll report in later which was better: book or movie.

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Books vs. Movies

  1. yes but do you think that you will find that the movie of Starting Out in the Evening will affect your enjoyment of the book? I mean – if you find that in the movie a whole chapter was cut out then will the book surprise you or annoy you?! hmmmm!

  2. What about The Gospel According to St. Matthew a 1964 Italian film directed by Pier Paolo Pasolini.