Sunday Salon: Addendum to 5/18

Yesterday, I didn’t get to everything in The Sunday Salon, so here’s what was left over, plus a little bit (very little) added today:

What I’m reading now:

  • The Secret Pulse of Time: Making Sense of Life’s Scarcest Commodity by Stefan Klein (just started today: page 56 of 343)
  • No Use Dying Over Spilled Milk: A Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes by Tamar Meyers (page 112 of 260)
  • 180 More: Extraordinary Poems For Every Day, edited by Billy Collins (page 225 of 373)
  • Sabbaths by Wendell Berry (poems, page 27 of 96)
  • The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross, translated by Kieran Kavanaugh, O.C.D and Otilio Rodriguez, O.C.D. (finished The Living Flame of Love, now starting The Spiritual Canticle, done with commentary on first stanza of 30 stanza poem)

What I plan to read in the near future:

  • Tricky Business by Dave Barry
  • Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith by Anne Lamott
  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  • Sailing Alone Around The Room: New and Selected Poems by Billy Collins
  • The Kingdom of Ordinary Time by Marie Howe (poems)

On TBR Bookshelf (as of 5/19) with a few additions from bookstore this afternoon (with asterik) and doesn’t count any books I find at library:

  • The Bonesetter’s Daughter by Amy Tan
  • Sea Glass by Anita Shreve
  • Horse Heaven by Jane Smiley
  • Seabiscuit by Lauren Hildebrand
  • Downsize This! by Michael Moore
  • The Miracle of Language by Richard Lederer
  • Running with Scissors by Augusten Burroughs
  • The Book of Illusions by Paul Auster
  • Bringing Out The Dead by Joe Connelly *
  • Cultural Literacy by E.D. Hirsch Jr.
  • Friday Night Lights by H.G. Bissinger (possible re-read: I think I may have read)
  • Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi
  • The Known World by Edward P. Jones*
  • Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust
  • The Sweet Cheat Gone by Marcel Proust
  • The Past Recaptured by Marcel Proust (I know four books missing; these are the owns I own)
  • Amusing Ourselves To Death by Neil Postman (re-read)
  • Death Comes For The Archbishop by Willa Cather
  • The Nine Tailors by Dorothy L. Sayers (part of 1% Well-Read Challenge)
  • Take A Girl Like You by Kingsley Amis
  • Speak, Memory by Vladimir Nabokov (started once, I believe)
  • Gandhi: His Life and Message for the World by Louis Fischer
  • More by Darrell Sifford (Philadelphia Inquirer columnist)
  • A Month of Sundays by John Updike
  • Cyrano de Bergerac by Edmond Rostand
  • The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner by Alan Sillitoe*
  • Smilla’s Sense of Snow by Peter Hoeg
  • The Accidental Tourist by Anna Tyler
  • The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy
  • Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
  • The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky (started once)
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston (part of Southern Reading Challenge)*
  • Tales from the Arabian Nights, translated by Sir Richard Burton (part of 1% Well-Read Challenge)*
  • The Moviegoer by Walker Percy (part of Southern Reading Challenge)
  • The Sayings of Confucius, translated by James B. Ware
  • The Lives of the Saints by Omar Engelbert
  • Walking by Henry David Thoreau (essay)
  • An Introduction to Zen Buddhism by D.T. Suzuki
  • and about a half dozen or so of assorted P.G. Wodehouse books, including Psmith and Jeeves and Wooster books

What I reviewed last week:

What I finished last week:

  • The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff
  • Left To Tell: Discovering God Amidst the Rwandan Holocaust by Immaculee Ilibagiza

Challenges I joined last week:

I wanted to get together a list of those I added to my blogroll, but I’ll be honest, I’m still working on it. With the blog just starting, it’s basically everybody, with some still to be added. If you want to be added, send me an e-mail at justareadingfool@gmail.com, and I’ll add you.

3 responses to “Sunday Salon: Addendum to 5/18

  1. Your TBR pile is a combination of my read and TBR pile. Very similar tastes. By the way….what a glorious setting of peace and calm to sit and read facing miles of forever. I miss Rhode Island. :(….

    But, you made me smile remembering the great times.

  2. Um . . . your TBR pile looks sadly like mine. Will there ever be enough time to read all of the books? I think not, but I’m going to die trying. Love the blog. I’ve added you to my reader, so I look forward to good thing to come.

  3. Whoa, that’s a long list! My TBR “stack” is mostly imaginary, i.e., books that I want to read. I don’t usually get the actual book until I’m ready to read it. I had always assumed that was the case with everyone — until I started reading litblogs. 🙂