Sunday Salon: Morning Entry

The Sunday Salon.comThis is my first “real entry with the Sunday Salon, as last week was Mother’s Day and I really didn’t have time to prepare or read.

8:45 a.m.: I actually began last night with a stack of books that I put on my desk:

  • Sabbaths by Wendell Berry
  • Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith by Anne Lamott
  • Sailing Alone Toward the World: New and Selected Poems by Billy Collins
  • Tricky Business by Dave Barry
  • No Use Dying Over Spilled Milk by Tamar Myers
  • The Secret Pulse of Time: Making Sense of Life’s Scarcest Commodity by Stefan Klein
  • 180 More: Extraordinary Poems for Everyday, edited by Billy Collins
  • The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross, translated by Kieran Kavanaugh, O.C.D. and Otilio Rodriguez, O.C.D.

This morning, I began with the last book mentioned and read the introduction to The Spiritual Canticle over a bowl of Raisin Bran and apple jalapeno pie, the pie I purchased after my wife and I were “stimulated” yesterday, before realizing this is Sunday. I then decided to read the reading for today’s Mass: Exodus 34:4b-6,8-9, 2 Corinthians 13:11-13 and John 3:16-18. What better way to begin a Sunday than with the Word of God?

9:15 a.m.-10:15 a.m. For an hour I meditate on the readings as I move from the kitchen table to the couch, where I try not to fall asleep, and with God’s grace, I don’t fall asleep. (Later, I will post a new entry on my Journeying with St. Ignatius (and St. John of the Cross) blog about this, but for now, I need to get ready for Mass at 11 a.m.)

Until later…

One response to “Sunday Salon: Morning Entry

  1. Love the picture on your blog. Also, your Sun a.m. reading (without falling asleep!)

    As for your lists, all sound great and I’m pumped because I’ve read many of them, it appears to me that I must somehow quit my career and read, as a career. A thought/wish that makes me laugh.

    I will stop in from time to time for a jumpstart on what to read. I am momentarily “at sea” about what to pick up. This is likely due to the looming freelance deadlines I have but also, it’s the time of year where I flounder on “where I want to be” , like, what fictional place would be best at the moment…