Weekly Geeks 2: New policy adopted and how it’s working out

I took part this week in Weekly Geeks #2 Challenge as started by Darla at Books and Other Thoughts.

The challenge in a nutshell was to:

  • adopt a policy of linking reviews from other bloggers to reviews on your blog, and then write a blog post about it.
  • write a blog a post to tell your readers about it and how you’re doing it, e-mail, links at the bottom of comments, etc.
  • visit other Weekly Geeks who adopted the policy and see if you have any reviews of books they’ve reviewed.
  • write about your experience and provide a link to your entry about the experience at The Hidden Side of A Leaf.
  • remind people you’re doing this either in the sidebar or at the bottom of each post.

So I did all parts of the challenge, except for stating my policy in a blog entry earlier in the week. I’m only getting to it now. So here’s what I did:

  • adopt such a policy (see sidebar at right).
  • visit all of the ones listed who are participating and only found a few that had reviewed the books that I have reviewed so far, which compared to many of the book-bloggers out there, is only a mere handful.
  • write about my experience (ta da) and will be sending this link as soon as I’m done.
  • remind people about the new policy (again see sidebar at right).

Here are the few reviews of books done by other Weekly Geeks of books I also had reviewed:

Others’ reviews of Musicophilia: Tales of Music and the Brain

Others’ reviews of Me Talk Pretty One Day:

Others’ reviews of Life of Pi by Yann Martel:

I’ll continue this in the future– at least, for the foreseeable future.

Footnote: I am a writer by profession, but most of you book-bloggers out there put me to shame. Mine are so off-the-cuff and short, compared to your reviews which are much more insightful than what I write.

8 responses to “Weekly Geeks 2: New policy adopted and how it’s working out

  1. Pingback: Weekly Geeks #4 » The Hidden Side of a Leaf

  2. Well, what I was really writing about was this idea my friend had, based on personal observation, that people tended to like either Life of Pi or The Kite Runner, but not both. I never came up with a good explanation though. Maybe it’s time to revive the topic.

  3. I’ll link to them anyway, Julie. From what I saw though, you said you liked it and mentioned a little bit about what the book was about. It’s not a lengthy, drawn-out review, but it’s still a review.

  4. I feel put to shame too. I would love to take part in this project but I don’t often write actual reviews. I am more interested in writing about the process & experience of reading, and life as a reader, than about specific books. And when I do write a review, I am very likely to focus on some small aspect rather than the book as a whole.

    I posted about (can’t say “reviewed”) Life of Pi, by the way, here and here. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Weekly Geeks #3 » The Hidden Side of a Leaf

  6. Oo, sidebar. Hmm. I’m glad someone else didn’t have any books in common with other bloggers! Granted, I’m just assuming, but I have a fairly short list of some fairly odd books 🙂

  7. I think I’m going to be doing both for now, since I can just cut and paste the policy from the sidebar and adapt it accordingly for each review.

  8. I think I’ll end up doing what you’ve done and putting the policy in my sidebar. Easier than saying it over and over at the end of every reviews. 🙂