What I’ve read, am reading and/or would like to read

For several months, I’ve had a reading blog on another network. While I liked the format, and the themes there, I felt like I was the only one contributing to different groups and not receiving any feedback. So after some thought, I canceled my account there, which also deleted my blog, and started this blog (the now defunct Just A Reading Fool). As I was doing there, I will review books I’m reading as well as highlight favorites of books I’ve read over the years and look ahead to what books I might read next.

So far this year, I’ve read, in order:

  1. Rumpole Misbehaves by John Mortimer
  2. Rumpole and the Reign of Terror by John Mortimer
  3. Rumpole and the Penge Bungalow Murders by John Mortimer
  4. Rumspringa: To Be Or Not To Be Amish by Tom Schachtman
  5. Abandonment to Divine Providence by Jean Pierre de Caussade
  6. Shakespeare: The World As Stage by Bill Bryson
  7. Thoughts in Solitude by Thomas Merton
  8. Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks
  9. Half Asleep in Frog Pajamas by Tom Robbins
  10. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
  11. The Scarlet Pimpernel by Baroness Emmuska Orczy
  12. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim by David Sedaris
  13. Lady Killer by Lisa Scottoline
  14. Proust and the Squid: The Story and Science of the Reading Brain by Maryanne Wolf
  15. The Gang That Couldn’t Shoot Straight by Jimmy Breslin
  16. An Arsonist’s Guide to Writers’ Homes in New England by Brock Clarke
  17. World War Z by Max Brooks
  18. Big Trouble by Dave Barry
  19. Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist by M.C. Beaton
  20. The Automatic Detective by A. Lee Martinez
  21. Limbo: Blue-Collar Roots, White-Collar Dreams by Alfred Lubrano
  22. Life of Pi by Yann Martel

On my shelf:

  1. Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death by M.C. Beaton
  2. The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff
  3. The Emotional Lives of Animals by Marc Bekoff
  4. Living Flame of Love by St. John of the Cross
  5. Red Bird by Mary Oliver (poems)
  6. Sabbaths by Wendell Berry (poems)
  7. The Kingdom of Ordinary Time by Marie Howe (poems)
  8. 180 More: Extraordinary Poems for Ordinary Times, edited by Billy Collins

2 responses to “What I’ve read, am reading and/or would like to read

  1. I had reviews for some of these books on the other blog, but didn’t save those reviews, except for maybe a few that were cross-posted on another blog, so I should have reviews or even brief reviews of the books when I mentioned them…but to answer your question, of ones I’ve read this year, I would suggest “Me Talk Pretty One Day” by David Sedaris, “Big Trouble” by Dave Barry and “Life of Pi” by Yann Martel. Out of ones I’ve read other years, and just off the top of my head, John Irving’s “A Prayer for Owen Meany,” David James Duncan’s “The River Why” and the Roma Sub Rosa series by Stephen Saylor.

  2. bookchronicle

    Of the books you’ve read do you have any in particular that you would strongly suggest?