Another 5 miles last night, and a new strength training routine

Last night (Wednesday) I kept my streak alive of working out one hour a day for Monday through Friday this week. I missed my chance to go for a run earlier in the day as I had wanted to do, but for my penance, I paid a visit to the gym and ran for an hour on the treadmill, with varying inclines. Usually, I run on the lower inclines: 1 to 2, but tonight went up to 3 to 4. I know it might not seem like that much of a change, but for me, it must have been, because my shirt was soaking wet after the run.

Last night, with the assistance of a trainer (Mike Pietropola) at the fitness center (my gym) at the high school, I started a new strength training routine using the “cable machines”. It’s too late tonight to break down exercise by exercise, but basically, instead of going from boring to boring machine, I stay mainly with two machines, doing different exercises and only two leg exercises, squats and lunges, using a straight bar with which I lift weights at the same time. I know it also may sound “boring,” but really, it’s not and at least for me varies the rut of workouts on machines that I had exhausted. Thanks, Mike, for the idea of using the different machines. Even tonight, I think I felt more energy because of it. Now, we’ll see how much energy I have tomorrow.

One response to “Another 5 miles last night, and a new strength training routine

  1. I’d like to be able to run a marathon by the time I’m 40.
    I just started my fitness journey about a month ago so I’ve got a long way to go.
    First I have to lose weight and get in shape before I can even think about running.
    Most of my workouts are walking 3 – 3.3 MPH up an 8 percent incline for 30 minutes.
    I’m going to work my way up to running eventually.
    Perhaps I’ll use you as an inspiration.
    I think I’ll add you to my blogroll 🙂