Woke up this morning…

…to find the toenail coming off my right big toe.

Luckily for you, unlike the last time I had feet problems after the Bald Eagle Mountain Megatransect, I won’t be putting any photo up of what I saw and the subsequent cutting away of the piece that was hanging off of it. You can thank my wife. She thought I should spare you as she was going “Ewww, ewwww.”

Both my right and left large toenails turned black after the Megatransect last September and have been slowly coming off. Four months later, the left one is finally off and already growing back. I know some of you might think this is gross, but I just want to document what doing something like a marathon or a 24.9-mile trail hike like the Megatransect can cause. Needless to say, it’s not pretty.

That said, it did provide some impetus to get out the door this afternoon to go for a short run around the lake by the development at my in-laws in Germantown, Maryland. I won’t lie and say it was the best run, but it was good to be outside and go for a run, even if it was a short run, probably under three miles. Next run: most likely Monday at gym, on treadmill and elliptical, and then plyometrics on Tuesday. See you all Monday.

3 responses to “Woke up this morning…

  1. Ok. I am really grossed out. Feel my oatmeal coming back up…gotta go.

  2. Ew Ew Ew.
    Just wanted to say it again.

    :o0

  3. I’ve had the same problem. It is gross but it’s the price we pay when we love to run.